Our History 2018-07-02T16:48:39+00:00

First Rums assembled, elaborated & bottled
in the Island of Saint-Martin.

ISLAND CANE rum is assembled, elaborated and bottled in Saint-Martin in accordance with the strict rules of the French rum from Guadeloupe and Marie Galante. With the help of a very renowned oenologist, we were able to produce a unique rum of high quality.

An island, a rum…

And yes, as surprising as it may seem, the island’s sugar farms, which have been prospering since the second half of the 17th century, all disappeared about 100 years ago, and it is because a Caribbean island without its rum Loses some of its identity as a small group of friends have joined forces to revive this tradition.

No local planting but ideas!

At first it is not a question of planting cane, but already of elaborating a Saint-Martin rum from a careful selection of alcohols coming from the neighboring French islands and Guadeloupe in particular, in order to obtain A unique rum with aromas labeled « Friendly Island ». After refining and assembling on the spot in the purest artisan tradition, bottling and distribution are provided by Lisa, Valérie, Christophe and Olivier who had the crazy idea of ​​this creation.

Already established on the island in recent years, these four have invested 100% to achieve their goals. They first joined the help of an oenologist of their knowledge to learn how to make the recipes, the recipes to the exact dosages on which the result depends and therefore the success of the rum (s) obtained.

Island Cane Rum: authentic products…

It is a real culture, in every sense of the word. The rum and its tasting are part of a fundamental rite that does not go without a long initiation, if only to learn to distinguish the various varieties and appreciate the finest bottles. The connoisseurs of rum are as « sharp » as their counterparts of cognac or armagnac. And, contrary to an accepted idea, there are among the old rums true prodigies that have little to do with the one you use to flame bananas. The national drink intoxicates those who abuse it, and makes those who consume it moderately happy.

Notre histoire

Premier Rhum élevé, embouteillé et veilli sur l’île de Saint-Martin.

Le rhum ISLAND CANE est assemblé, élaboré et mise en bouteille à Saint-Martin dans le respect des règles strictes de l’élaboration du rhum Francais en provenance de Guadeloupe et Marie Galante. Avec l’aide précieuse d’un oenologue très renommé, nous avons pu produire un rhum unique de grande qualité.

Une île, un rhum…

Et oui, aussi étonnant que cela puisse paraître, les exploitations sucrières de l’île pourtant prospères depuis la seconde moitié du XVIIème siècle ont toutes disparue il y a environ 100 ans, et c’est parce qu’une île des Caraïbes sans son rhum perd un peu de son identité qu’un petit groupe d’amis se sont associés pour faire renaître cette tradition.

Pas de plantation locale mais des idées !

Dans un premier temps il n’est pas question de planter la canne, mais déjà d’élaborer un rhum saint-martinois à partir d’une sélection minutieuse d’alcools venus des îles françaises voisines et de Guadeloupe plus particulièrement, afin d’obtenir un rhum unique avec des arômes labellisés “Friendly Island”. Après affinage et assemblage sur place dans la plus pure tradition artisanale, la mise en bouteille et la distribution sont assurés par Lisa, Valérie, Christophe et Olivier qui ont eu l’idée folle de cette création.

Déjà implantés sur l’île depuis quelques années, ces quatre là se sont investis à 100% pour arriver à leurs fins. Ils se sont tout d’abord adjoint l’aide d’un œnologue de leur connaissance pour apprendre à faire les assemblages, ces recettes aux dosages précis dont dépend le résultat et donc le succès du ou des rhums obtenus.

Island Cane Rhum : 5 produits authentiques…

C’est une véritable culture, dans tous les sens du terme. Le rhum et sa dégustation font partie d’un rite fondamental qui ne va pas sans une longue initiation, ne serait-ce que pour apprendre à distinguer les diverses variétés et apprécier les plus fines bouteilles. Les connaisseurs de rhum sont aussi « pointus » que leurs homologues du cognac ou de l’armagnac. Et, contrairement à une idée reçue, il y a parmi les vieux rhums de véritables prodiges qui n’ont plus grand-chose à voir avec celui que vous utilisez pour flamber les bananes. La boisson nationale enivre ceux qui en abusent, et rend gais ceux qui en consomment avec modération.

Les commentaires sont clos.